How do I get started? (Please document.)

If you got some trouble or need help configuring AirDC++, we're here to help

How do I get started? (Please document.)

Postby LightDemon » 12 Jun 2017, 09:08

I'm new to DC++ (the GNU/Linux daemon and client,) have read a lot about it, haven't gotten any DC++ client to work. I'm also a computer scientist, though didn't study networking at all (rather than other aspects) and learned a lot on my own about it, but may know nothing about some aspects. I've set up lots of other network programs to run on various PCs on a LAN that the network connection connects into the router. All those programs work fine (including older file-sharing)... no DC++ program ever worked for me. People on hubs just say they can't get my list, and I can't get anyone else's list. It seemed I was able to configure AirDC++ so it should work (with my LAN & WAN IP addresses, TCP & UDP port and another TCP port,) but I had the same problem as with others (didn't work, seems to be no active Internet Relay Chat for help, just web-forums, etc.) and the automatic settings used random ports I always had to redo in my router, unfortunately usually having to erase many lines first then rewrite them in numerical order. The ‘documentation’ seems to just be a description. Please actually document it, preferably write some tutorials or update the nonexistent tutorials that are on this forum. I don't really know what details I should state, but will post if asked when anyone can walk me through this.
LightDemon

Re: How do I get started? (Please document.)

Postby maksis » 12 Jun 2017, 13:51